Troop 282
District K ● Northern Star Council
A Chartered Organization of the St. Louis Park, MN Lions Club

Troop 282
meets Monday evenings during the school year
at 7:00 P.M.
We meet in the
Fellowship Hall of
Spirit of Christ Community Lutheran Church,
5801 Minnetonka Blvd.
St. Louis Park, MN.
Please use the
Contact Us
link above for more information.

Imagine Dragons
On Top of the World
Buy at

Troop 282 makes no money from purchases. We just think it's good music.

Scouts of America, Troop 3282 (referred to as Troop 282) is the oldest of the Scout troops in Saint Louis Park, Minnesota.

Troop 282 was originally chartered in December, 1944 at Elliot School. Little is known about the troop during that period but at a recent Memorial Day ceremony with the American Legion Post 282, the Commander said that their Post started Scout Troop 282. The charter was dropped in 1965.

The Troop was re-chartered in June of 1969 with 5 scouts at Lenox School. Lenox PTA was the chartering organization until the 1974-75 school years when the St. Louis Park MN Lions Club became the chartering organization. The Troop then changed its meeting location to Peter Hobart School and then to its current location at Spirit of Christ Community Lutheran Church. The original Troop of five scouts grew to fifteen scouts within a year, and now has a roster of 27 scouts.

Troop 282 earned a reputation for high adventure camping, and in recent years, the Troop has sponsored multiple trips to accommodate the boy’s preferences.

The troop has several major fund raisers each year to help scouts earn money for these trips and for our camp outings. These include the sale of wreaths, nuts, popcorn, and State Fair mini-donuts at several events. 

The major fund raiser benefiting primarily the troop is our Christmas Tree Lot in November and December. These profits go to pay major troop expenses such as new tents, patrol boxes, cooking equipment, as well as offset camping costs. The troop's Charter Organization, St. Louis Park MN Lions Club donate monies to support camping as part of their Community Service.

During the Troop’s current existence, there have been twenty Scoutmasters: Dave Apold, who re-chartered the troop in 1969, Tom Richards, Dennis Anderson, Al Krough, Joe Casey, Dale Klinkhammer, Rom Jurewicz, Roger Mann, Steven Hagen, Mark Foresman, Rom Jurewicz, a second term, Stuart Thomas, Tom Muralt, John Johnson, Mark Gerold, Dan Myers, Peter Mesick, Jeff Hickstein, Billy Anderson, and Matthew Ernst.

During the first twenty years, we know of only one Eagle Scout, Frank Fleetham, Jr. in 1959. Our first Eagle Scout would go on to be Mayor of St. Louis Park, MN. Troop 282 has sixty scouts who have the distinction of earning the Eagle Scout rank. Only 6% of all scouts worldwide have earned this award

Eagle Scouts of Troop 282

During it's history, Troop 282 has had a higher than the national average of youth who have earned the rank of Eagle Scout. The Eagle rank is the highest rank that a Scout can earn. Only six percent of all Scouts, worldwide, who have participated in the Scouting program have earned the Eagle rank. The following Troop 282 scouts have earned this distinction.

1 Frank Fleetham, Jr 1959   29 Daniel Stephens 2001   57 Carl Ell-Egemeier 2017
2 Scott Apold 1972   30 Dan Wilder 2001   58 Eric Hickstein 2017
3 Jon Apold 1974   31 Joseph Miller 2001   59 Jonathon (JT) Seaman 2017
4 Bill Kirschner 1974   32 Christopher Tatarek 2002   60 William Huyck 2017
5 Jim Folley 1974   33 Mark Marek 2003   61 Ryan Gemilere 2017
6 Tim Folley 1974   34 Nick Okonek 2003   62 Joey Mack 2020
7 Mark Comeau 1975   35 Eric Kelley 2003   63 Ben Cantor 2020
8 Darrell Richards 1980   36 Aaron Hagen 2004   64 Jonathan Peterson 2021
9 Don Bratland 1981   37 Charles Magrew 2004   65 Keenan Thomas 2022
10 Doug Bratland 1982   38 Mark Miller 2007   66 Lief Anderson 2022
11 Jeff Anderson 1984   39 Max Johnson 2008        
12 William Schwartz, Jr. 1985   40 Jeff Studenski 2009        
13 Kent Mein, Jr. 1989   41 Alex Johnson 2010        
14 Casey Johnson 1989   42 Michael Chase 2010        
15 Alan Long 1990   43 Nicholas Olson 2010        
16 Jeff Mein 1992   44 Matthew Cichoski 2010        
17 Jon Casey 1993   45 Shane Boettcher 2010        
18 Jon Lipp 1994   46 Tommy Barrett 2011        
19 Gus Hallman 1995   47 Donald Stephens 2011        
20 Paul Miller 1998   48 Austin Mack 2012        
21 David Tatarek 1998   49 Madison Christensen 2012        
22 Micheal Fischer 1999   50 Mitch Rotert 2013        
23 Patrick Marek 1999   51 Luke Cichoski 2013        
24 Matt Klinkhammer 2000   52 Jacob Mattson 2013        
25 Dan Westrud 2000   53 Ben Sixel 2014        
26 Chuck Donkersgoed 2000   54 Jordan Gemilere 2015        
27 Eric Jurewicz 2000   55 Zachary Conati 2016        
28 Eric Mann 2000   56 Caleb Mesick 2017